

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer

# CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229 e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us

(925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX

#### **MEMBERS**

Donald A. Blubaugh
Public Member
Federal Glover
County Member
Michael R. McGill

Special District Member

Mary N. Piepho
County Member
Rob Schroder
City Member
Igor Skaredoff
Special District Member

Don Tatzin City Member

#### ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Candace Andersen
County Member
Sharon Burke
Public Member
Tom Butt
City Member
George H. Schmidt
Special District Member

August 12, 2015 Agenda Item 12

August 12, 2015 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

## Special District Risk Management Authority (SDRMA) Board Election

#### **Dear Commissioners:**

This is a report from the LAFCO ad hoc subcommittee appointed by the Commission to screen and recommend candidates for the SDRMA Board of Directors.

Contra Costa LAFCO is a member of SDRMA and purchases its workers' compensation and property/liability insurance through the Authority. In May, LAFCO received the SDRMA election packet with information regarding the board election process and four candidates. The SDRMA requests action by LAFCO to select up to three candidates for the SDRMA Board of Directors; ballots must be cast by August 25, 2015.

In June, the Commission appointed an ad hoc subcommittee (Commissioners Schroder and Skaredoff) to review the candidates and report back to the Commission in August with its recommendations. The subcommittee reviewed the written qualifications of each candidate; and interviewed all candidates by phone.

On June 18<sup>th</sup>, the subcommittee met to review the four candidates using criteria such as geographic diversity, special district experience, risk management experience, qualifications as agency staff member or agency Board member, elected office experience, LAFCO knowledge and experience, and agency diversity (e.g., large vs. small district, etc.).

Based on a review of written materials, phone interviews, and criteria used, the subcommittee recommends that Contra Costa LAFCO cast its votes for the following candidates:

- Sandy Raffelson, (incumbent), Herlong Public Utility District, Lassen County
- Ed Gray, (incumbent), Chino Valley Independent Fire District, San Bernardino County
- R. Michael Wright, Los Osos Community Services District, San Luis Obispo County

### **Recommendations:**

- 1. It is recommended that the Commission cast its vote pursuant to the subcommittee's recommendations, adopt Resolution No. 2015-01 containing the Official 2015 SDRMA Election Ballot (attached), and direct staff to file the LAFCO resolution with SDRMA prior to August 25, 2015; or
- 2. Provide other direction as desired.

Respectfully submitted,

Rob Schroder and Igor Skaredoff

Attachment – LAFCO Resolution 2015-01 Containing Official 2015 SDRMA Election Ballot

#### RESOLUTION NO. 2015-01

# A RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission FOR THE ELECTION OF DIRECTORS TO THE SPECIAL DISTRICT RISK MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, Special District Risk Management Authority (SDRMA) is a Joint Powers Authority formed under California Government Code Section 6500 et seq., for the purpose of providing risk management and risk financing for California special districts and other local government agencies; and

WHEREAS, SDRMA's Sixth Amended and Restated Joint Powers Agreement specifies SDRMA shall be governed by a seven member Board of Directors nominated and elected from the members who have executed the current operative agreement and are participating in a joint protection program; and

WHEREAS, SDRMA's Sixth Amended and Restated Joint Powers Agreement Article 7 - Board of Directors specifies that the procedures for director elections shall be established by SDRMA's Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, SDRMA's Board of Directors approved Policy No. 2015-01 Establishing Guidelines for Director Elections specifies director qualifications, terms of office and election requirements; and

WHEREAS, Policy No. 2015-01 specifies that member agencies desiring to participate in the balloting and election of candidates to serve on SDRMA's Board of Directors must be made by resolution adopted by the member agency's governing body.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the governing body of the Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission selects the following candidates to serve as Directors on the SDRMA Board of Directors:

(continued)



#### OFFICIAL 2015 ELECTION BALLOT

# SPECIAL DISTRICT RISK MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

#### **VOTE FOR ONLY THREE (3) CANDIDATES**

Mark each selection directly onto the ballot, voting for no more than three (3) candidates. Each candidate may receive only one (1) vote per ballot. A ballot received with more than three (3) candidates selected will be considered invalid and not counted. All ballots <u>must be sealed</u> and received by mail or hand delivery in the enclosed self-addressed, stamped envelope at SDRMA on or before 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, August 25, 2015. Faxes or electronic transmissions are NOT acceptable.

	ROBERT SWAN Director/President, Groveland Community Services District
	ED GRAY (INCUMBENT) Director/President, Chino Valley Independent Fire District
	R. MICHAEL WRIGHT Director/President, Los Osos Community Services District
	SANDY SEIFERT-RAFFELSON (INCUMBENT) District Clerk, Herlong Public Utility District
ADODTED this	12thday of August, 2015 by the Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission by the
following roll call	votes listed by name:
AYES:	
NOES:	
ABSTAIN:	
ABSENT:	
ATTEST:	APPROVED: